disruptive blogging as an iterative process

08Jun07

I’ve recognised a couple of trends and a potential pit-fall in how I develop thinking since I started to write this blog.

Firstly the stimulus that leads me to write a blog post doesn’t usually remain the key subject of the final post.

Secondly, I use my blog to occasionally develop planning insight or tools in an iterative manner. My post from yesterday concerning a framework for engaging U.K. teens with brand communications is a good example of this point.

I set out writing a post on the premise of how the planning process presented in the book ‘Disruption’ was being ignored and commonly delivered as ‘Disruptive’ marketing by many.

Jean-Marie Dru’s book ‘Disruption: overturning conventions and shaking the marketplace’ forms the central briefing framework for TBWA\. It is an articulate, researched and robust approach to delivering differentiated and relevant communications.

I believe many marketing people aren’t following the Disruption model. Instead some are creating interruptive and irrelevant brand communications. In these cases we are interrupted in a jarring manner, because of a lack of continuity within the media environment (time, place, surroundings) and audience targeting (message or activity relevance).

While I like Disruption, Monsieur Dru’s original book may have a weakness. It was written in 1999 (although now in it’s forth edition I believe) and this pre-dates the explosion of Prosumer, community driven, collaborative participation brands surfacing from the Web 2.0 market. Brands such as Last.FM, which sold last week for US$280m to CBS, do things in a manner Disruption may not take fully into account.

As I started to write about this, it prompted a reference to both some research work I’d been involved with recently with U.K. teenagers and a BBC Radio 4 Programme called In Business, presented by Peter Day.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/radio4/news/inbusiness/inbusiness.shtml

Back in May I listened to a podcast of the programme called Generation Next and this referenced thinking and material from teenagers and the consultancy The Youth Conspiracy.

I guess I could draw a mind-map for how these thoughts have coalesced and then led to my post yesterday, but hopefully I’ve explained the thought development path okay.

I’ve then pulled back on the observation on disruptive advertising in the planned blog post and contextualised it within the brand communication preferences of U.K. Teenagers posted yesterday.

So I guess my thinking was redirected as I expressed an idea in written form, read back, revised and then refined it. Such revising and reduction of an idea to a core chart is common in my development of presentations.

Where my approach causes a problem for the blog I’m writing is that I’ve then gone back to that post 3 times to refine and correct the post until I am happy with it. Unfortunately people using RSS feeds will probably see the original post in their RSS Reader, warts and all, while people who visit my blog to read posts essentially read the latest or final version. So the casual browser is rewarded and the loyal reader left without the more refined and sharpened end-product!

Surely that can’t be the best way to go about blogging? The people who’ve kindly offered to read more of my ideas and more regularly (via RSS Feed) actually see the least polished work. I could of course work offline, but the mere fact I’m thinking and writing online as I go adds pressure that sharpens the thinking and makes the output more immediate. If I want to write a book, I’ll do it offline and have it edited and perfected. Blogging is imperfect, but adaptable and more zeitgeist (I hate that last phrase, it’s so 1991).

Hmm. I wonder when I’ll refine this post too?

No Responses Yet to “disruptive blogging as an iterative process”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

