10 10 10 Day – Got Your Number?

08Sep10

Could 10 / 10 / 10 Day, on 10th October 2010, be a bit of a let down?

There’s no sizzle of faux danger for example, such as there was over the fictitious 00 / 00 / 00 date, when the millennium bug was meant to reset computers around the world, causing havoc just after New Year’s Eve celebrations in 1999.

I remember the BBH party celebrating 9 / 9 / 99, where at least people could party like it was 1999, and it really was. That had a certain charm.

But 10 / 10 / 10 is nearly upon us and I can’t help but notice the apathy around this rare occasion on the calendar. If I were a Douglas Adams fan, I might be enthusing over the way 10 10 10 is binary for the number 42 – which was meant to be the meaning of life I seem to recall.

But I suppose at least I won’t have to worry about seeing a brand try to find a way to hijack such a special calendar date with its own promotional celebration. I mean, it would take a very special date and a bit of a mad brand to try that, wouldn’t it?

As I won’t still be around on 11 / August / 118, I guess I’ll never know.

I suppose this goes to prove that a bad idea can arrive ahead of its time. But is nearly 108 years ahead a new world record?

No Responses Yet to “10 10 10 Day – Got Your Number?”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

