Steve Jobs takes a leave of adsence due to health issue

17Jan11

Steve Jobs sent this email to Apple staff today:

Team,

At my request, the board of directors has granted me a medical leave of absence so I can focus on my health. I will continue as CEO and be involved in major strategic decisions for the company.

I have asked Tim Cook to be responsible for all of Apple’s day to day operations. I have great confidence that Tim and the rest of the executive management team will do a terrific job executing the exciting plans we have in place for 2011.

I love Apple so much and hope to be back as soon as I can. In the meantime, my family and I would deeply appreciate respect for our privacy.

Steve

Comment:

1. Get well Steve.
2. This will be Tim Cook’s second opportunity to steward the business while Steve Jobs is away. The first was when Steve had a liver transplant in 2009.
3. Apple are in great shape, the second most valuable business in the world and preparing to launch the iPad 2 (End of March/Early April) and iPhone 5 (July/August 2011).
4. The more cynical will watch the share price, rather than the product launches over the coming months.



No Responses Yet to “Steve Jobs takes a leave of adsence due to health issue”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment